2016 AIA Indiana Service Award Winners

2016 AIA Indiana Service Award Jurors

  • Susan Brock Williams – Purdue University Director Government Relations
  • Andrea Swartz – Ball State University Chairperson of the Department of Architecture and Professor
  • Rick Wajda – Indiana Builders Association Chief Executive Officer


Edward D. Pierre Award Winner - Jason Larrison, AIApierre jasonlarrison

Presented annually it is named in honor of Edward D. Pierre, FAIA (1890-1977). He was a crusader for the welfare of children, decent housing for all, peace and progressive urban planning. Mr. Pierre was recognized repeatedly for his outstanding service to the architectural profession and the public. To honor his service, this award is presented for advocacy for architecture as a civic and community leader as well as service to the profession and to the public. This year's winner of the Edward D. Pierre Award is Jason Larrison, AIA.

Jason Larrison, AIA, received the received the Edward D. Pierre Award, named in honor of the architect who was a crusader for the welfare of children, decent housing for all and progressive urban planning. Larrison, director of Indianapolis’ business and neighborhood services, has been a champion for design and proactively promotes quality design throughout the city. He developed new procedures and standards for temporary structures for public and private events, which has become a model that other cities have adopted.

Juliet Peddle Award – Lisa Gomperts, AIApeddle lisagomperts

Recognizing an individual architect for their strong willingness to pioneer, being successful in breaking new ground, strong devotion and commitment to architecture, display of professionalism and perseverance, and having a kind spirit, this award is named after the first female registered architect in Indiana. A Terre Haute native, Juliet Peddle (1889 – 1979) was the second woman to graduate from the University of Michigan School of Architecture. She co-founded the Chicago Architectural Women's Forum, operated her own office for over 30 years, and worked diligently to enlighten her community on the value of historic structures. This year's recipient is Lisa Gomperts, AIA.

Lisa Gomperts, AIA, a principal at Schmidt Associates, received the Juliet Peddle Award, which recognizes individuals for their commitment to architecture. Gomperts has been project manager on more than 50 higher education, workplace and community projects throughout the state. A natural leader, when she was chairwoman of the national education committee, she launched AIAU to provide 24/7 access to continuing education programs. She transformed Schmidt Associates’ learning program into a holistic training program that’s provided more than 350 classes (about 5,000 learning units for staff).


Walter S. Blackburn Award – John Whiteblackburn johnwhite

Walter S. Blackburn was an African-American architect elected to the College of Fellows in the 1980s. He chaired the AIA's Diversity Taskforce in 1992, and shortly thereafter, was elected as its Vice President. His career also included many terms of service in the Indiana Arts Commission and on the boards of numerous local arts organizations and nonprofit institutions. Successor to the Don E. Gibson Award, this honor is bestowed upon a non-architect public member or organization that has contributed of their time and person in service to or support of the architectural profession in Indiana, or an architect who has exemplified professional and public service as Blackburn did. This year's winner of the Walter S. Blackburn Award is John White.

John White, president of Associated Construction Publications, received the Walter S. Blackburn Award named after the long-time Indianapolis architect and civic leader. He founded Building Excellence in 2005, as a way to promote great design and construction in Indiana. He now owns 14 regional construction magazines and helps uses them to champion causes such as safety, diversity and workforce development. White’s accounting background and business acumen has made him a valuable resource during AIA Indiana annual retreats. When AIA Indiana was looking for new office space for its bookstore, White offered space in his offices and even agreed to man the bookstore.

Young Architect Award – Brandon Farley, AIAyoungarchitect brandonfarley

This award was created by the Board of Directors of AIA Indiana to recognize proficiency and exceptional accomplishments in, and contributions to, the profession by a licensed AIA Indiana architect, 40 years or less in age. This year, the jury selected Brandon Farley, AIA.

Brandon Farley, AIA, a senior designer at American StructurePoint, received the Young Architect of the Year Award. Farley has designed projects at every major university in Indiana. He leads American StructurePoint’s Education Studio and also its WELL Building Standard, a cutting-edge, evidence-based design system that measures, certifies and monitors the performance of building features that impact health and well-being. A long-time member of AIA, Farley leads the annual High School Design Competition.

Gold Medal Award - Evans Woollen, FAIA (awarded posthumously)goldmedal evanswoollen

The AIA Indiana Gold Medal is the highest honor AIA Indiana can bestow on an individual. The Gold Medal is bestowed to an individual in recognition of their significant accomplishments in promoting the aesthetic, scientific and practical excellence of the profession; advancing the science and art of planning by advancing the standards of architectural education, training and practice; coordinating the building industry and the profession of architecture to insure the advancement of the living standards of people through their improved environment; and making the profession of ever-increasing service to society through service to the AIA. The 2015 AIA Indiana Gold Medal Award winner is Evans Woollen, FAIA.

Evans Woollen III, FAIA, is responsible for some of Indianapolis’ most prominent buildings including Clowes Hall, the Minton-Capehart Federal Building, the silver addition to the Indianapolis Central Library, the entrance hall at the Children's Museum of Indianapolis and dozens of mid-Century modern homes throughout Central Indiana.

CLICK HERE to view a letter of appreciation from Malcolm Woollen, Evan's son.

krM ArchitectureDistinguished Firm Award – krM Architecture+

The AIA Indiana Distinguished Firm Award was created to recognize a Member Firm which, through consistent leadership, vision and ability, has distinguished itself through design and implementation of works of architecture that enhance the quality of our environment. Consideration will also be given based upon a firm’s commitment to the architectural profession and community involvement.

krM Architecture+, a design studio committed to craft and quality that advocates to create solutions to transform communities and the built environment was named the Distinguished Firm of the Year. Founded in 1978, krM is known for its environmentally responsible design that responds to the needs of educational, healthcare and civic clients.

legislator tonycook

Legislator of the Year – Rep. Tony Cook

Indiana Rep. Tony Cook was named Legislator of the Year for his willingness to sincerely listen to legislative concerns raised by AIA Indiana members. In particular, Rep. Cook has always made himself available to meet with AIA Indiana and his steady approach and trusted leadership is welcomed, appreciated and deserves recognition.

Leave your comments

Post comment as a guest

  • No comments found